Heroes 5-0

Hawai'i Stories

What’s New in ‘22

Leave a comment

POTPOURRI 

“What’s New in ‘22”

The USA TODAY Article Read…  You can only play so much golf… This Great Resignation, as it has become known, has led to massive disruptions and record numbers of job openings…”.  But, for those who decided to resign and receive unemployment, then eventually have to contend with the reality of, LIVING.  And the need for a J-O-B

  • Roger M. Millard (single, 35-years of age)

“Yeah, I quit my Sales Associate position with Roger Dunn Golf in Ala Moana.  This was back in 2020, just when the COVID-19 Pandemic cases surged in Hawaii.  Like the rest of the retail outlets in the Waikiki/Ala Moana areas, business slowed drastically, and people were being temporarily laid-off…  Because of my family connections with the Manager of the store, I was able to continue through the initial furloughs…”.

“But with the generous unemployment cash benefits (UE) and the added PPP cash stimulus, I just decided to take advantage of the system.  Afterall, this COVID thing would be short-term, and all would return to normalcy soon.”

“But, as it turned out, not so… and I just got lazy and enjoyed doing nothing and playing action video games on the computer.  Hey, I’m single with no family responsibilities; why not enjoy life??  So, in 2022 I’ll be looking for another job, probably again in retail sales.  I enjoy the people-contact work environment!!”

“Hey, there is one other interesting job I’m considering doing – Fast Foods Delivery!!  A friend of mine (Dayle Kurisu) does Foods Delivery work in the Waikiki/Ala Moana areas for Postmates.  He says $$ is good, steady income; and he works as many hours a day/week as he desires.  You know, these days there are lots of foods delivery alternatives being developed – Self-Driving Automobiles, and even flying drones (like in Iceland) …. Actually, I could be doing that kind of wok NOW even while drawing my UE benefits!!!”

  • Robert “Bobby” Navarro (married, 52-years of age)

“I’ve had a rough time with 2020 and 2021; and am still struggling with family problems associated with my in-laws’ long-term care needs…  But I’m convinced 2022 will be a complete transition year for me.  For one thing, I plan to retire from my Hawaii Army National Guard job – just the active Army Reserve component.  I’ll still continue as a full-time Hawaii State National Guard employee,” Bobby clarified.

You see, I have 30-years of military reserve time accrued – USAF and Army.  But, here’s the great opportunity I have right now…”.  Many of the Army Reservists in the Hawaii Army National Guard were placed on active-duty status for periods of 180-days or more these past two years to assist different States with COVID-19 Pandemic protocols enforcement, especially in hospitals and major key airport terminal hubs.  And now, with the new Federal law, if a Reserve or Guard soldier who was deployed for overseas or special duty 180-or more days (outside of required regular active-duty training), the government has provided ‘special COVID-19 active-duty retirement benefits.  The Army will pay for college education tuition, and subsistence financial support.”

I already have a Masters in Information Technology (IT); but I thought why not take advantage of this new opportunity and pursue a Culinary Arts: Associates in Science Degree from the University of Hawaii – a new path in life.  Maybe one day you will be able to call me— Chef Roberto’…!!!”

______________________________________________________________________________

STORY SUBMITTED BY:

            E. Tiwanak

IMAGES PROVIDED BY:

            Puanani/Internet

Author: Heroes 5-0

www.heroes50.wordpress.com

Leave a comment