Heroes 5-0

Hawai'i Stories

Eat and Be Merry

Leave a comment

POTPOURRI  

“Eat and Be Merry”

 

We all had a lousy day at golf!! No one in our foursome came close to shooting his established GHIN Handicap; so, what else could we do, but totally enjoy our 19th Puka (hole) drinks and pupus (appetizers). The specials of the day were Machos Nachos, Honey-dipped Deep-Fried Chicken Wings, and NanOk-style Kalbi (with, of course, heaps of Kim Chee on the side!).

All this feasting led to our favorite boisterous conversation – “What’s your favorite dish?”

Hey, what can I say? We’re at the beginning of MANGO season; so, everything Mango at this time rules my palate,” slurped Danny Frohlich holding his chopsticks up high. “You know, like Mango Chutney, Mango Salsa, and, one of my very favorites—Mango and Chocolate Crème Brulee!! My wife got the recipe for that one from her United Airlines friends; she used to make it all the time during a good Mango season.”

“But, you know what? Despite all those scrumptious dishes, I still long for that simple Pickled Green Common Mangoes – mouthwatering… ‘miko’ (Hawaiian for seasoned with salt; tasty). Water, vinegar, sugar, Hawaiian Salt (sea salt). Add Hawaiian small, red chili peppers for ‘fire’. Put the gallon jar out in the bright sun to age to simply delicious!” Danny again slurped unabashedly.

 

                                                

Three cheers from the now ‘happy, happy’ golfers. However, Roland Santiago (Savings & Loan Branch Manager) quickly interrupted the noisy huzzahs

“I’m half-Filipino, so just the mention of vinegar makes my mouth water for ADOBO. And, I mean anything Adobo – Chicken Adobo, Pork Adobo, Shrimp Adobo, and, YES, even Goat-meat Adobo!!”

However, I have to confess, my absolute favorite is Adobong Pusit. Whole cuttlefish marinated in vinegar, soy, garlic, black peppercorn – and simmered in the marinade. Simply, delicious; or as Filipinos say, ‘MASARAP’… Yummy stuff. I especially like eating the roe and innards of the squid. Wow!”

                        

 

The 19th Puka revelers soon shifted their attention to Korean Tours Ltd.’s Chairman Moon K.L. Paek who boasted of his own food delights…

As for me, Korean food is the ‘Absolute Best’… And, I think all of you here enjoy a good Korean meal. You know what I mean – Galbi and Kim Chee (grilled short ribs, like here on the table); Bibimbap (rice, assorted vegetables, and egg); Kim Chee Jjigae (stew or soup, especially delish when made with some fatty meat); Galbi Jjim (braised short ribs – super tender and coated with sticky, salty, sweet, and nutty sauce).”

“But, especially comforting and irresistible, MY absolute favorite – Gopchang Jeungol (spicy stew or casserole with beef intestines and tripe). I always ask for extra tripe, ‘my gotta have’. Everyone around the dining table shares this stew between several other dishes being served,” the Chairman instructed.

“To be sure, too, you gotta have SOJU, (Korean variation on vodka; traditionally made from rice, now commonly from sweet potato. Chill it; pour in shot glass—drink up!!) a must when dining Korean!”

“Hey, you know what? I’m so ravished from just telling you about these dishes; so, I decided to take you all, right now, to my must visit’ Korean RestaurantBudnamujip, on Kapiolani Blvd. The Best…My treat!!!”

Chairman Moon Paek did not need to repeat his invitation… The 19th Puka gang got up immediately and simply shouted in unison –

“OK. WE GO!!!”

“GEONBAE!!!”

_______________________________________________________________________________________

STORY SUBMITTED BY:

E. Tiwanak

IMAGES PROVIDED BY:

Puanani/Internet

 

 

Author: Heroes 5-0

www.heroes50.wordpress.com

Leave a comment